IPL Auction 2014 – Salary & Players Retention

The Indian Premier League is undoubtedly one of the most relished cricket tournaments not only for the Indians but also for the cricket crazy populace all across the globe. The coming year will mark the 7th season of the cash-rich T20 cricket championship. According to the IPL governing body, the squad line up for the IPL 7 would be based on a fresh auction which is scheduled for February 12, 2014. Player retention is a significant aspect of the 2014 IPL auction. The article here is a brief on the player retention guidelines for IPL 2014 auction.

In regards to advance player retention, the IPL 7 squads are allowed to retain maximum 5 players who were with them in the 2013 league season. These 5 players could be uncapped or capped cricketers- among which maximum 4 would be Indians and there should be one overseas player at least. The players to be retrained could be the ones who have actively played for the squads in 2013 or those who were with the team but unavailable during the matches or the ones who were taken as temporary substitutes in the previous season.

The retained cricketer contract should be submitted to BCCI within 10th January, 2014.

Here is a brief on the salaries of the retained players for Indian Premier League 2014.

Capped retained player salaries-

First retained capped player would be getting 12.5 crore INR

Second retained capped player would be getting 9.5 crore INR

Third retained capped player would be getting 7.5 crore INR

Fourth retained capped player would be getting 5.5 crore INR

Fifth retained capped player would be getting 4 crore INR.

The uncapped retained players will get 4 crore INR.

The rate of player retention by a squad would influence its “Right to Match” in the auction.


  1. j.syed says:

    delhi daredevils will be the best team

  2. vara prasad teki says:

    i was waiting for the battle
    that was held in INDIA at indian cricket grounds and i was surely says that SUN RISERS HYDERABAD will won ipl 7 tittle

Speak Your Mind


IPL 2016 Teams : Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Chennai Super Kings